Caffeine pouches in New Zealand: every brand compared
Every caffeine pouch we could find on sale from a New Zealand store, in one table. Caffeine per pouch, the regular price at the source, what else is in it, and who makes it. Prices were read on 26 October 2026, and how we priced it is at the foot of the page. PAX is caffeine. There is no nicotine in it and there never will be.
PAX is one of the brands in the table. We make it. So the rows where PAX loses are printed as carefully as the rows where it wins.
Which caffeine pouches are sold in New Zealand?
Twelve caffeine pouches from eight brands, 40mg to 150mg a pouch, $5.95 to $17.95 a tin at regular prices, and every tin holds 20 pouches. PAX, a New Zealand-owned brand, is 100mg a pouch and $14.90 a tin.
All of them are nicotine-free. Some of the companies behind them also make nicotine pouches, which is covered further down.
| Brand | Caffeine per pouch | Regular price a tin | Beyond caffeine | Made by, and where |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| NicNac | 150mg | $11.99 | none | not stated |
| ICEBERG | 150mg | $17.95 | none | ICEBERG, Poland |
| PAX | 100mg | $14.90 | none | made in the United Kingdom for PAX Energy, Auckland |
| HICAFF | 100mg | $14.95 | none | Microzero, Sweden |
| HICAFF with taurine | 100mg | $17.95 | 100mg taurine | Microzero, Sweden |
| Wakey | 100mg | $17.95 | 13 vitamins and minerals | Wakey, Denmark, made in Sweden |
| CAMO | 77mg | $14.95 | none | Global Snus, Lithuania |
| NicNac | 75mg | $11.99 | none | not stated |
| ZAF | 75mg | $12.99 | vitamin B6, folic acid, vitamin B12 | Indonesia, for BIG NZ Limited, Auckland |
| ICEBERG | 75mg | $14.95 | none | ICEBERG, Poland |
| Wakey | 50mg | $14.95 | 13 vitamins and minerals | Wakey, Denmark, made in Sweden |
| AMNESIA | 40mg | $5.95 | none disclosed | House of Pouches, Denmark |
These are regular listed prices, and shops run sales. The table runs from the strongest pouch to the weakest, and from the lowest price to the highest within a strength. It prices PAX at $14.90, a single tin on this site, because that is the like-for-like number against the other brands' own stores. In shops the recommended price is $12.90 a tin, and on the six-tin subscription it is $9.15 a tin. Pouch NZ sells its imports by the carton and in mixed bundles at a discount, so a buyer of a carton or a bundle pays less than the single-tin price shown.
Two things the table leaves out. ZERONITO, also made by Microzero, is a caffeine-free pouch, so it does not belong in a caffeine comparison. And two stores that sell into New Zealand from outside it, as far as we could tell when we read them on 11 September 2026. Pouchmax is Australian-owned, ships from Australia, prices in Australian dollars, and lists Glick, R4VE, POP, Hypno and Chapo at 75 to 100mg, and Wakey at 50, 100 and 200mg. Energy Unleashed prices in New Zealand dollars, gives an Australian contact address and quotes four to ten business days for delivery; it lists BERSERKER, R4VE, ICEBERG, HYPNO and FEDRS among eight brands. Neither is in the table, because we could not check where those pouches are made or who makes them, and a price from a store that ships from overseas is not like-for-like with a New Zealand shelf.
One row needs a note. NicNac sells its 75mg and 150mg at the same price, and the ingredient list on its website reads "77mg per pouch" on every flavour page we checked, which matches neither strength it sells. We have printed the strengths as sold.
Whatever the strength, FSANZ's ceiling for healthy adults is 400mg of caffeine a day from all sources. Two 150mg pouches and a coffee is 380mg of it. One pouch per serving. PAX is for adults 18 and over. It is not for you if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, or if you are sensitive to caffeine.
Which caffeine pouches have the most caffeine?
NicNac and ICEBERG are the strongest caffeine pouches on sale from a New Zealand store, at 150mg a pouch. PAX, HICAFF and Wakey come next at 100mg. The lightest is AMNESIA at 40mg.
Between them sit CAMO at 77mg, and NicNac, ZAF and ICEBERG at 75mg. Wakey also sells a 50mg.
More caffeine in a pouch is not better by itself. A 150mg pouch is nearly two cups of instant coffee at FSANZ's figure of about 80mg a cup, and FSANZ's ceiling for healthy adults is 400mg a day from all sources.
PAX is 100mg a pouch in all six flavours. One pouch per serving. PAX is for adults 18 and over, and not for anyone pregnant, breastfeeding or sensitive to caffeine.
Is 100mg really one coffee, and which brands get it right?
Not quite, and the brands disagree with each other by a factor of two.
FSANZ puts a cup of instant coffee at about 80mg of caffeine. A cafe coffee runs from about 95mg to 200mg, depending on the cup.
| Brand | Its own claim | Against FSANZ's 80mg |
|---|---|---|
| Wakey 50mg | equal to 1 cup of coffee (approx) | under a cup |
| ICEBERG 75mg | equal to 1 cup of coffee | about a cup |
| CAMO 77mg | 1 small cup of coffee, 1 espresso, or one 250ml energy drink | closest to the figure |
| PAX 100mg | about one coffee | a bit more than a cup, at the top of what FSANZ says a standard serving of coffee normally holds |
| ICEBERG 150mg | equal to 3 cups of coffee (approx) | under two cups |
Our own line is in that table on purpose. We have said "about the same as a coffee" without saying which coffee, and 100mg sits at the top of the honest range, not the middle. We corrected it on our caffeine pouches: myths and facts page: if you are counting your daily caffeine, count a PAX pouch as 100mg, because that is exactly what it is.
Do the added vitamins and taurine do anything?
It depends entirely on the dose, and the doses on this page run from a fraction of one percent of a daily intake to seven times it.
Three brands add something beyond caffeine. Here is what each one adds, in numbers.
HICAFF with taurine. 100mg of taurine a pouch, for $3 more than the plain HICAFF. The research on caffeine and taurine together uses about 1,000mg of taurine, the amount in a 250ml energy drink, and whether taurine adds anything even at that dose is still argued over. Nothing we could find has tested 100mg. So the honest answer is not established at that dose, which is a different thing from "it does nothing".
Wakey. Wakey publishes a full declaration on its own site, and the figures are per can of 20 pouches, not per pouch. All thirteen nutrients it declares:
| Nutrient | Whole can | One pouch | Whole can, as a share of the daily intake used on NZ labels |
|---|---|---|---|
| Magnesium | 17.86mg | 0.89mg | 5.6% |
| Vitamin C | 3.8mg | 0.19mg | 9.5% |
| Iron | 0.7mg | 0.035mg | 5.8% |
| Vitamin E | 0.6mg | 0.03mg | 6% |
| Zinc | 0.5mg | 0.025mg | 4.2% |
| Vitamin B2 | 0.1mg | 0.005mg | 5.9% |
| Vitamin B6 | 0.07mg | 0.0035mg | 4.4% |
| Vitamin B1 | 0.05mg | 0.0025mg | 4.5% |
| Vitamin A | 38 micrograms | 1.9 micrograms | 5.1% |
| Folic acid | 9.5 micrograms | 0.475 micrograms | 4.8% |
| Iodine | 7.1 micrograms | 0.355 micrograms | 4.7% |
| Vitamin D3 | 0.2 micrograms | 0.01 micrograms | 2% |
| Vitamin B12 | 0.1 micrograms | 0.005 micrograms | 5% |
Eat the whole can and you get between 2 and 9.5 percent of a day's intake of any of them. One pouch is a twentieth of that. Wakey also publishes figures per 100g, which are about 6.8 times larger, because a can weighs 14.7g. Nutrition figures are often given per 100g, and that is how a product can carry a vitamins-and-minerals line while one pouch delivers well under one percent of a daily value. The label can be right and the amounts still be small.
ZAF. A different story, because ZAF's amounts are per pouch and they are real doses. A ZAF tin we photographed on 11 September 2026 lists, per pouch, 1mg of vitamin B6 (about 60 percent of the daily intake used on New Zealand labels), 400 micrograms of folic acid (twice it) and 14 micrograms of vitamin B12 (seven times it). ZAF's own website FAQ, read the same day, says "ZAF is caffeine, flavour and plant fibre, nothing else." We report both; a website is not required to reproduce a label panel.
PAX adds nothing. No vitamins, no minerals, no amino acids. The caffeine dose is a fixed 100mg a pouch.
Which caffeine pouch brands also make nicotine pouches?
Most of them, or the company that makes them does.
Every pouch in the table above is nicotine-free. This is about the businesses behind them, checked on 10 and 11 September 2026 on the companies' own websites and trade listings.
| Brand | Nicotine pouches from the same brand or its maker? |
|---|---|
| CAMO | Yes. The CAMO name sells nicotine pouches and caffeine pouches in other markets, from the same maker, Global Snus. |
| ICEBERG | Yes. ICEBERG sells nicotine pouches alongside its caffeine line. |
| HICAFF | At the maker. Microzero's own site describes it as a maker of nicotine pouches and caffeine pouches. |
| AMNESIA | At the maker. House of Pouches makes nicotine pouches and caffeine pouches. |
| NicNac | Yes. NicNac's site leads with nicotine pouches, and caffeine is one line among them. |
| ZAF | No. No nicotine product under the ZAF name. The tin says made in Indonesia for BIG NZ Limited, Auckland. |
| Wakey | No. Wakey states it makes no nicotine or tobacco products. |
| PAX | No. PAX Energy has no nicotine or vape business of any kind. |
A caffeine pouch looks exactly like a nicotine pouch, and when one company makes both, its two tins can look the same. If you would rather your caffeine came from a company with no nicotine business, the table tells you which ones those are. If you do not mind, it changes nothing about what is in the pouch. What a caffeine pouch is and is not, in more detail, is on our caffeine pouches: myths and facts page.
How did we price this?
Every price is the source price: the New Zealand importer or the maker's own store, not the cheapest retailer on the day.
Pouch NZ imports ICEBERG, AMNESIA, HICAFF, Wakey and CAMO, so their prices are Pouch NZ's. NicNac and ZAF are priced from their own sites, and PAX from this site. We list the regular price, not a sale or promotion price, because a promotion would price the whole table wrong for a week.
Ingredient and origin details come from each maker's own site or from the tin. Where a maker states nothing, the table says so. Wakey's vitamin figures are from its website; we have not read them off a tin. ZAF's are from one tin.
Questions?
Email hello@paxenergy.co.nz or call 027 777 2899. If a price has moved or a fact on this page is wrong, tell us and we will fix it.